BMW 1 Series Coupe Forum / 1 Series Convertible Forum (1M / tii / 135i / 128i / Coupe / Cabrio / Hatchback) (BMW E82 E88 128i 130i 135i)

09-09-2014, 11:36 AM   #1
SigsMeister
United_States
Rep
Drives: 2012 135i Blue/Tan Nav/M/HK

Exclamation 1st oil change at 28K! - should I be worried?

Hello, I just purchased a 2012 135i with 28K miles on it. I took it to the BMW dealer and pulled up the service history. It appears that the 1st oil change was done at 28K! Usually 1st change should be done around 14K.

Should I be worried about this? I am planning to keep this car for long. But worried about damage to engine.

Thanks in advance (noob to 1 series & BMW overall)
Appreciate 0
      09-09-2014, 11:47 AM   #2
mtowle182
Private First Class
Rep
Drives: 2009 135i

I'm no expert by any means but aren't the first oil changes the most important for the engine? I'm not sure what damage(if any) would occur if it misses the early interval.
Appreciate 0
      09-09-2014, 11:53 AM   #3
Iron Man
Major
United_States
Rep
Drives: N/A

Quote:
Originally Posted by SigsMeister View Post
Hello, I just purchased a 2012 135i with 28K miles on it. I took it to the BMW dealer and pulled up the service history. It appears that the 1st oil change was done at 28K! Usually 1st change should be done around 14K.

Should I be worried about this? I am planning to keep this car for long. But worried about damage to engine.

Did you look under the fill cap? I would think there would be sludge evident if 28K was the first oil change. Maybe the previous owner changed their own oil?
Appreciate 0
      09-09-2014, 01:54 PM   #4
NorthernDancer
Colonel
Rep
Drives: 08 Sedona 128 & 06 330xiT 6MT