E90Post

Coby Wheel

BMW 3-Series (E90 E92) Forum > BIMMERPOST Universal Forums > General Automotive (non-BMW) Talk + Photos/Videos > Learning to drive manual transmission performance cars?

02-01-2011, 09:46 PM   #1
tlr
Second Lieutenant
United_States
Rep
Drives: 2011 M3 E93

Learning to drive manual transmission performance cars?

So, I recently bought a deal on one of those Groupon sites for a day of driving 6 exotic cars (Ferrari F430, Lamborghini Gallardo Spyder, Lotus Elise, Audi R8, Aston Martin DB9, Porsche Cayman S)

Awesome, right?

The problem is I'm not very experienced driving manual transmissions.

I've driven friends' manuals a few times, but nothing very powerful, certainly not at the level of any of these cars or even an M3.

I'm willing to put in the practice over the next few months. My question is how much practice on manual transmissions will I need to to be comfortable in these cars? Any tips on how to go about doing it? Can I just rent a manual car from Hertz or something?
Appreciate 0
      02-01-2011, 10:00 PM   #2
NewYearsBoy
Colonel
United_States
Rep
Drives: IS 300

Garage List
Quote:
Originally Posted by tlr View Post
So, I recently bought a deal on one of those Groupon sites for a day of driving 6 exotic cars (Ferrari F430, Lamborghini Gallardo Spyder, Lotus Elise, Audi R8, Aston Martin DB9, Porsche Cayman S)

Awesome, right?

The problem is I'm not very experienced driving manual transmissions.

I've driven friends' manuals a few times, but nothing very powerful, certainly not at the level of any of these cars or even an M3.

I'm willing to put in the practice over the next few months. My question is how much practice on manual transmissions will I need to to be comfortable in these cars? Any tips on how to go about doing it? Can I just rent a manual car from Hertz or something?
Im sure the guys at the Exotic car test drive will teach you... Is a learning experience...

The only Exotics I have driven have been Paddles...