E90Post

BMW 3-Series (E90 E92) Forum > BIMMERPOST Universal Forums > Off-Topic Discussions Board > Health insurance help for me?

10-11-2008, 07:37 PM   #1
xxForgedxx
Lieutenant
Rep
Drives: Slow/Fat

Health insurance help for me?

I am 22 years old and am not on my parents policy and I am going to Penn State as a transfer student in January via ROTC scholarship. I am a Maine resident at the moment and I am under Maine Medical Center free care as a student. This is kind of a pain because though ER visits are all taken care of, when I need an appointment for something to get fixed I have to schedule with the Maine Med clinic which consists of mainly Doctors in there residency (I think?) and usually the appointments are months and months out. I am trying to figure out what my options are for health insurance as a 22 year old student without it being crap insurance or extremely expensive.

I am in the Army Reserve but I was told that the Tri-Care Select was not very good and I can not be on my parents policy because my fathers is Maine State employee insurance (freaking crap) and my mother is disabled. I also do not know what kind of insurance is very good insurance, all I see are numbers and what SOUNDS good but I really just do not know. Could someone break it down for me, and or recommend what kind of route I should take and what IS the best coverage. I just remember before I turned 19 if I needed something checked out or taken care of, it was 100% and I never heard of my parents talking about having to pay for anything aside from "Co-pay"...

Last edited by xxForgedxx; 10-11-2008 at 08:00 PM..
Appreciate 0
      10-11-2008, 11:46 PM   #2
aus
Major General
United_States
Rep
Drives: Odysse

Nothing wrong with TriCare. You should be able to find doc's that take it. It's not the best, but there is not "best" anymore.