E90Post

BMW 3-Series (E90 E92) Forum > BIMMERPOST Universal Forums > Off-Topic Discussions Board > IT Folks Get The Fu*k In Here....

12-29-2011, 06:52 AM   #1
lopealle
Resident Black Guy
Zimbabwe
Rep
Drives: Lion

Garage List
2006 M5  [10.00]
Arrow IT Folks Get The Fu*k In Here....

So I'm about to start college pretty soon and I want to be a IT Programmer/Analyst. What the hell am I getting myslef into other then dealing with computers and things like that? I love working with compters and programs but I dont know much about them. So I figure IT would be the best bet for me. So if all IT folks could give the pro and cons.

Here is payment....
Attached Images

Appreciate 0
      12-29-2011, 08:23 AM   #2
ragingclue
One cam is enough
Rep
Drives: VF

A lot of IT can be done through certs and self-education, although good luck convincing potential employers that you are self-taught (I think radix said he taught himself pretty much everything in IT and coding through reading books and stuff).

"IT" is a very general field. You might want to look into which aspects of IT you're interested in, i.e. networking, databases, etc.... Or were you actually interested more in coding?
Appreciate 0
      12-29-2011, 09:04 AM   #3
M_Six
Free Thinker
United_States
Rep
Drives: 2016 MB GLC300 4matic

Learning to write code is like learning another language. If you can become fluent, you're way ahead of the field. If you just muddle by, it's obvious. However, no matter what IT specialty field you end up in, the ability to write some code and scripts is a huge bonus. Database admins write SQL code. Sys admins write scripts for automation. Web designers write PHP and Java code. So take programming classes first and decide then if you want to be a hardcore programmer or not. If you decide to get into another IT field, the programming stuff will not have been wasted. You'll always use the skill.

"There is no shame in dropping fruit in your glass."
-UncleWede
Appreciate 0