E90Post

BMW 3-Series (E90 E92) Forum > BIMMERPOST Universal Forums > Off-Topic Discussions Board > School and carrier advice..

06-02-2008, 08:19 PM   #1
RonJon
Private
Rep
Drives: 2000 323i

Question School and carrier advice..

I am thinking of quilting my decent job and going back to school...

I currently work for a small company that deals with automotive manufacturing plants. (we supply tooling and line automation equipment)

I am field service rep and pretty much work alone. I manage my own time, tasks and working hours. I get along superbly with my boss and coworkers but our customer are a pain the A$$. I've been doing this almost for 3 years and I don't want to make a living carrier out of. I know allot of ppl within the industry that once they get in they stay in cus the money is good and you have allot of perks; mileage, phone, expense account, laptop....

My plan is to back to school this year and get into any university program for 2 years and achieve above 80%. After two years I want to apply to university of western ontario's HBA program (Hnours Biz Admin.). Once accepted into the HBA program, I'll graduate with from one of the top B school in the country.

I am 25 now and have a 3 year electrical engineering technologist diploma. My education will only lead me into techy types of jobs, I want to expand my options and I firmly believe the HBA will accomplish that.

My company would pay for school if I get my engineering degree but I HATE it. 99% of the people I deal with with @ work are engineers and they got a pretty shit job.

If I don't do it now I am probably never going to cus my age, plus I really hate the idea of living like a starving student.

So I just need some encouragement to pull the trigger. I already have an offer of admission for Philosophy at a school thats 45 drive from home.

My gut feeling says go back now, but when I think it through its best to wait another year, which means I'll freaking 30 when I graduate!!!

Please help.