E90Post

Coby Wheel

BMW 3-Series (E90 E92) Forum > BIMMERPOST Universal Forums > Off-Topic Discussions Board > Video + PC Gaming / Computing > Question for IT guys

01-02-2008, 09:09 AM   #1
ArmyBimmerDude
Major General
United_States
Rep
Drives: Lola

Garage List
Question for IT guys

I've been thinking a lot about this and I've almost made up my mind and plan to get out of the military. My MOS deals with the automations/tactical side of communications.

The question I have is. In order to better my chances out there, I've never had a civilian job outside of Burger King , what is a must that I should have?

I'm almost completed with my Bachelors in Information Systems(focusing on Security). My certifications currently are A+, Sec+, Network+, and MCSA 2003. Prob by the end of this year I'll get that E. Also I've been working as an Systems admin for the last 8 years.

Never thought I'd ever lived there, but my future wife wants to live in San Diego, so any insight into jobs in SoCal would be awesome too.

Thanks ahead of time!

David
      01-02-2008, 09:55 AM   #2
UncleWede
Long Time Admirer, First Time Owner
United_States
Rep
Drives: G01 X3 M40i Dark Graphite

I've been sitting on the other side of the table in the interview groups for a number of years. The candidates we've been seeing didn't have so much in terms of certifications, it's the experience in the field that counts. If you have 8 years in sysadmin, look for a sysadmin job.

And the biggest deicision we've been making is whether the candidate fits in the culture of the organization. If you can't speak, look somebody in the eye, and be smart enough to dress well for the interview, . . .