E90Post

Coby Wheel

BMW 3-Series (E90 E92) Forum > BIMMERPOST Universal Forums > Off-Topic Discussions Board > Breaking into Finance from Non-Financial Background

10-23-2014, 04:29 PM   #1
pgviper
Captain
United_States
Rep
Drives: X3m40

Breaking into Finance from Non-Financial Background

Currently I am an electrical engineer and looking to break into the financial industry, specifially investment banking. I chose electrical engineering because it was a safe and interesting career path that played on my strengths. Although engineering has a consistant job market, I don't see it allowing me to reach my goals within the time frame that I want to do so and therefore it is time for a change. Finance has always interested me and my technical and innovative background can only help me from here on out.

Has anyone here broken into the financial industry through a non traditional route? Whether it be engineering, law, liberal arts, whatever... What was the experience like and what lessons did you learn?

Getting my MBA seems to be the most secure yet most expensive route. Ideally, I would like to land an analsyt position first (gaining a basic finance and accounting background through my own book work) and then having that firm pay for my MBA. In the meantime I can take the GMAT since those scores last for 5 years. Unforutunately, I see my best option as getting the MBA first and then using the contacts I make through there to get a job. Until I talk to more people, gather more information and hopefully gain some advice from people on here, I won't be able to make an educated decision.

FWIW, I don't mind working insane hours, I don't mind doing b!tch work and I don't mind taking shit. I strive for success in anything and everything I do so lets please keep the brainless comments to a minimum. Any type of success doesn't come without risk and hard work and I am fully aware of that fact of life.

Thanks in advance!
Appreciate 0
      10-23-2014, 04:34 PM   #2